• 1st student jazz amp - Roland Cube 30x/80x?

From iamthevery1@gmail.com@21:1/5 to Richard Whitehouse on Thu Jul 23 17:22:36 2020
    On Friday, November 13, 2009 at 8:17:54 AM UTC-8, Richard Whitehouse wrote:
    I'm a beginner jazz guitar student, looking at buying my first amp. Some
    of my criteria:

- Light weight, small
    - Good jazz tone
    - Low cost
    - Use it as a practice amp for now, but may want to gig with it at some point, perhaps in a year or two

Even though I would probably prefer the tone of something like a polytone
    or henriksen, it doesn't make sense to me to spend a lot of money on an
    amp, not yet, since I'm not doing gigs. I may never get good enough to
    gig, or who knows, I might get sick of this whole endeavor, and just stick to piano (which I've been playing for about 50 yrs). I hope not, but you never know.

I'm playing a Squier Standard Telecaster at the moment. I'm going to stick to a tele for the time being, I like the simplicity of it. I might get a slightly better one, probably a MIM, pretty soon. I'll think about other guitars later, if and when I can play.

So, for a starter amp, I'm considering a Roland Cube 30x or maybe a 80x. The 30x seems like a good plan, but if I ever gig, the 80x seems like it would be more suitable - more power, more connection options (ext speaker, line out, etc.). On the negative side, it's 35 lbs, which is a bit heavier than I'd like. The 30x is 21 lbs, perfect.

I already own amps that I use for piano gigs: a pair of JBL Eon 10 G2's. These are small, 10" powered p.a. speakers. They have a line-level input. One option for me is to use a guitar preamp, like a Sansamp Blonde, and
    plug that into the Eon. If I did that, I wouldn't have to buy a guitar amp. I tried that, it sounds pretty good. But, I like the convenience of having a guitar practice amp that just sits in my living room, ready to