• Latimer and Latimer Bouchard Families

From Robert Allen@21:1/5 to All on Thu Jan 19 00:31:50 2023
    There was a conversation at this Group in 2015 that touches on the Latimer/Latymer and Latimer/Latymer Bouchard family. See https://groups.google.com/g/soc.genealogy.medieval/c/uHSPl7X1ObU/m/k83nHOU-BAAJ

There have been no postings on this thread since 2015 so I decided to start a new conversation.

I have been doing my genealogy since 1979, but only recently have begun any detail research on my Latimer/Latymer line. My Latimer/Latymer line begins with Elizabeth Latimer/Latymer (1328-Bef. 1411) who married Thomas Griffin/Gryffin (circa 1330-circa
    1360) of Braybrook, Northamptonshire.

My first question is whether anybody knows why the surname is sometimes presented as Latimer/Latimer and then sometimes Latimer/Latymer Bouchard? Where and when does the Bouchard surname come to be connected with the Latimer/Latymer surname? Was there
    a child born out of recognized wedlock to explain this?

I trying to to get confirmation (or dispute) as to the ancestry I have put together for this Elizabeth Latimer who married Thomas Griffin.

There is a 1411 IPM of Edward Latymer Bochard. https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=umn.31951d00889656z&view=1up&seq=31 (on page 291). It finds that his kinsman and heir was John Gryffyn, being the son of Richard [Griffin], son of Elizabeth, his
    sister. This Edward Latymer Bochard and his wife jointly owned the castle, manor and advowson of Braybrooke.

It it believed that Richard Griffin was the son of Thomas Griffin, presumably the same Thomas Griffin who married Elizabeth Latimer/Latymer. I don't have direct primary source evidence proving this father son relationship yet (still searching). Other