• Driscoll detangle

From Belinda Phillips@21:1/5 to All on Sat Apr 10 11:37:58 2021
    Hello,

I am trying to sort out the history of my great- grandfather, John Driscoll, born 1868, who came to America in 1887, we believe through New York. Our family history has him as either being born in Dublin or Skibbereen, but neither have enough evidence so
    far to determine the best accuracy. Some records show him as O'Driscoll and others have it as John C. Driscoll, which also confuses the situation. How do you suggest I figure it out? I am new to geneology, so will take any help suggested.

The reason for doing this is because my husband and I would like to visit Ireland and have some "family" areas as destinations. Thanks - BKDP

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Leo Isenteze@21:1/5 to Belinda Phillips on Sat Apr 10 22:18:46 2021
    On 4/10/2021 2:37 PM, Belinda Phillips wrote:
    Hello,

I am trying to sort out the history of my great- grandfather, John Driscoll, born 1868, who came to America in 1887, we believe through New York. Our family history has him as either being born in Dublin or Skibbereen, but neither have enough evidence
    so far to determine the best accuracy. Some records show him as O'Driscoll and others have it as John C. Driscoll, which also confuses the situation. How do you suggest I figure it out? I am new to geneology, so will take any help suggested.

The reason for doing this is because my husband and I would like to visit Ireland and have some "family" areas as destinations. Thanks - BKDP

For someone born in 1868 you should be able to find him in the Irish
    Civil Birth records and the Parish records.

If he came to New York you should be able to find him in the Castle
    Garden ship records.

Do you have a death certificate with his parents names? Do you have a
    date of birth? Do you have the 1900 Census record showing month and year
    of birth?