• Re: [Carib] King Family jamaica 1745-1865

From andrew dunn@21:1/5 to Chris Codrington on Fri May 19 08:33:27 2023
    On Monday, December 5, 2016 at 7:25:42 PM UTC, Chris Codrington wrote:
    Hi Caribbeanites;

I'm currently pouring over the Jamaica Parish copy registers often page by page trying to verify information on a family (well several branches at times) surname King. Parishes of St George, Portland, St. Thomas, and Kingston(St Andrew)

The traditional oral history is that two male Kings Dr. John King and Capt Kell King came to Jamaica to assume an inheritance in the mid 1700's. From what I can see, the inheritance involved several substantial estates and a few smaller bits. Anyway as I am pulling BDM's for children of Dr John King and his wife Elizabeth Biggs King I come up with 12 children (confirmed by J King's will)

Hi Chris / Group

First a quite apology, I am new to this, first time, and not sure of any etiquette ,,, so I'm just going to throw this out there!

It was great to hear that oral history as I have one much the same, handed to via the Ballantyne family in Innerleithan, Peebles, Scotland.
    John Ballantyne married Alice King in 1869 and built a mansion in Walkerburn called Stoneyhill, after the King's plantation in Jamaica.

John Ballantyne's grandson, b1933, recorded this history

"Dr. King came from Rudston in East Riding of Yorkshire and was accompanied by his brother when he emigrated. It is believed that they inherited a property in Jamaica, but not Stoney Hill. - "It" came into the family from Henrietta Louise, heiress of the
    Chevalier Degoutte who was probably a refuge from Haiti"

On reflection the "It" in the last sentence is probably Stoney Hill - Alice King's father, John King married Henriette Louise Degoutte before 1835. John King's parents were Francis King b1778 and Letitia Ann Hall b1772 - both born in Jamaica