• karuthamma - an extended review

From prithiviraj.it@gmail.com@21:1/5 to narayanan sundararajan on Fri Nov 25 02:44:25 2016
    I found your review which was written 22 years before where many people wouldn't have known there is a virtual world present and I was only 6 at that time.

Thankfully,
    Prithiviraj

On Thursday, 10 November 1994 05:29:54 UTC+5:30, narayanan sundararajan wrote:
    en inniya thamizh makkalukku, (??!!, hope its not copyrighted by
    bharathiraja !)

i got the cassette of "karuthamma" recently and i thought that i will add
    my opinions to a review posted by thiru senthooran rasaratnam. this is my first attempt at any sort of reviewing and so please if there are any mistakes, porutharulga !

so, here goes :

bharathiraja as usual starts off with "en inniya thamizh makkale" and has talked at the start of each song and making one desperately wait for the start of the song ! in the intro to the team, he says "rehman computer
    kuyil ena koovi irukkirar !!" and praises his cinematographer kannan and
    etc etc.

the first song "pacchakili .." is for some reason named as the 'kozhi song ?!!'. ok, accepted that it has lots of kokkarakkos in it, but if one starts naming songs like this as kozhi song, mattu song etc ??!, probably they thought that its goin to become famous as the kozhi song and so well name
    it in the beginning itself.
    coming to the song itself, it is a catchy tune with a nice beat running in the background all the time with 'ok types' interludes.

the second song is a bit song and as bharathiraja puts it, its a thaalaatu-turned-oppaari. sung by t.k.kala and kunjarama (kollangudi karuppayi type voice).

the next song "poralae (sad)" sung by swarnalatha is a great piece. the