• Can a cheap, portable microscope revolutionize global health?

From =?UTF-8?B?4oqZ77y/4oqZ?=@21:1/5 to All on Thu Dec 17 13:09:01 2015
    The New Yorker

Annals of Science
    DECEMBER 21, 2015 ISSUE

Through the Looking Glass
    Can a cheap, portable microscope revolutionize global health?

BY CAROLYN KORMANN
    ShareTweet
    Manu Prakash seeks to bring a minuscule world to the masses.
    Manu Prakash seeks to bring a minuscule world to the masses.
    CREDIT ILLUSTRATION BY CHRISTIAN GRALINGEN
    Antoni van Leeuwenhoek wrote a letter to the Royal Society of London, in 1683, announcing the discovery of something extraordinary in his mouth. He was a haberdasher by trade, in the Dutch city of Delft, but he was known for his enthusiastic work with
    microscopes, which he made himself. By modern standards, Leeuwenhoek’s devices were rudimentary, and fickle in their operation. They were nearly flat, consisting of a tiny magnifying glass sandwiched between metal plates, with an adjustable spit to
    hold the sample being viewed. But they could be effective, particularly when an unsqueamish eye was at the peephole. Leeuwenhoek had already examined eels’ blood, dogs’ sperm, and the bile of elderly rabbits, among other substances. Now he had turned
    his attention to dental plaque.

Leeuwenhoek had an intensive routine of oral prophylaxis, which involved rubbing salt on his teeth each morning and buffing his molars with a cloth after meals. Nevertheless, he wrote, the plaque lay “thick as if  ’twere batter.” He scraped some
    off, mixed it with rainwater, deposited a droplet on one of his microscopes, and held it up to the light. The sample was teeming with “many very little living animalcules, very prettily a-moving.” When he reproduced the experiment with the plaque of