From mfstephen62@gmail.com@21:1/5 to Kate Waldmann on Tue Dec 5 20:52:03 2017
    On Friday, March 10, 1995 at 7:02:38 PM UTC+9:30, Kate Waldmann wrote:
    While lots of games this season have been rather predictable,
    the winner of the Nichols Medal was a real 'dark horse,' who
    in the best tradition, had to be called out of bed to come and
    receive NT Football's top award!

    Again, unlike the games this season, the voting was very close.
    Many of the favourites didn't poll as well as expected - Russell
    Jeffrey who has had a magnificent and inspiring season with
    Wanderers, and who was the Captain in the NTFL Representative
    Side and Captain of the NT Team of the Year only polled 6 votes.
    Michael Athaanasiou is another player in this category - maybe
    the brilliance of some players is being taken for granted.

    The winner of the Nichols Medal was Joel Howes from Wanderers,
    who has played some great games this season. He wasn't selected
    in the NT Rep side or the NT Team of the Year, so it is good that
    he has received some recognition of his undoubted ability.

    Joel Howes polled 15 votes to beat St Marys forward Brian
    Stanislaus on 14 votes. Marty Christensen was third with 12
    votes, and both these players had been expected to do well.
    Another favourite, Tommy Weetra from St Marys, finished equal
    fourth. Mark West from Darwin polled 18 votes, but was ineligible
    due to a suspension earlier in the season.

    --- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)