• training or rather coaching

From Ed Prochak@21:1/5 to All on Thu Jun 22 19:14:46 2017
    So I have gotten two guys at work to start running with me.

the first one has run sporadically with me about a month. He does biking but hasn't been running before this. We run at lunchtime (just before noon or so) Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays. I have him up to over twenty minutes per run.

We did one 30 minute run, but still cannot run the full time. My plan is to stay at this time (20-25 minutes) until we can run the full time without walking breaks. We did try some intervals this Wednesday, but only a few laps to get the idea. This guy
    can go at a decent pace, but not long, yet.

The second guy doesn't want to run at lunch and so we run together Tuesday and Thursday afternoons about 4pm. He is a complete beginner so we are still just at the 10 minute run/walk stage. One problem I have with him is that he runs too fast, so gets
    winded quickly. I need a way to slow him down, so I tried to keep him talking. It didn't totally help, but we'll work through it.

needless to say this is helping to motivate me. With occasional interference from work, I haven't had to run 5 days straight, but since two are very easy (10 minutes), I think I could still handle it.

The extra runs are helping me get to stretch more, which I think is one area that will really pay benefits.

So today was a good day. Spent more time stretching (15 minutes) than running (10). If I ever get my ham string muscles loose again, I think I will get a good bit of speed back.

Enjoy the run.
    ed

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Tim+@21:1/5 to Ed Prochak on Fri Jun 23 07:00:10 2017
    Ed Prochak <edprochak@gmail.com> wrote:

the first one has run sporadically with me about a month. He does biking
    but hasn't been running before this. We run at lunchtime (just before