• A Tribute to Jeff Becker, A Great Guitar Teacher

From thowe396@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Mon May 25 09:13:50 2020
    Crazy reading this in 2020. I was a student of Jeffs for a year maybe year and a half right up to the end when he was teaching out of his home. Although I was only able to study with him for a short time his impact on my view of guitar and music in
    general. After he passed I kind of lost direction in my playing and was stuck in a rut for a long time. Recently I have really been making a push to really learn again and find that all the you tube videos in the world can not match Jeffs lessons, his
    patients and ability to make you understand was unmatched. I thought all the notes and everything were lost in a move but just last week found out that my mom has all of them (she was a student as well). I will always remember being in his basement
    waiting room complete with massive stacks of guitar magazines and a Headstrong poster on the wall. Truly an inspirational teacher and great guy. I'm glad to see his legacy lives on with so many people.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From paul23stockert@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Tue May 26 20:06:07 2020
    I was probably one of his earliest students I think he was recording in Philly with Headstrong - he was probably 22 or so when I started taking lessons in 1971 - I was 10. Before I left for college I expanded my half hour lesson to an hour for a year or
    so. I returned one summer and took lessens too - he got mad at me for not being prepared (lack of practice that week), so I stopped the lessons. I moved out of the area in the 1980's after college, but my parents still live near by - I drove by his old