• Was Eugene Landy Brian Wilson's Yoko Ono?

From Norbert K@21:1/5 to All on Tue Jul 27 05:30:10 2021
    Eugene Landy is the quack therapist who had Brian Wilson under his control for several years. Why do I liken him to Yoko? He appeared in Wilson's life at a time when Wilson was too fried on LSD to perceive that he was being preyed upon. Landy exerted
    near-total control over Wilson, subjecting him to 24-hour "therapy." He convinced Wilson that he (Wilson) was helpless without this alleged therapy. He began to control Wilson's work, taking co-producer's credit for Wilson's first solo album. Landy
    tried to influence the work of the Beach Boys. And, appearing on television, Landy boasted that "Brian Wilson is proof that in my field, I'm an artist." At one point, Landy and Wilson had arranged for some sort of film being made to depict Landy's
    alleged rescue of Wilson.

There's footage of Landy & Wilson together on Youtube. It's exceedingly creepy. One video shows the two grown men physically enmeshed upon a couch, with Landy boasting of his benefit to Wilson -- who utters the occasional sycophantic grunt.

The difference is that Wilson's friends and family eventually intervened, obtaining a restraining order against Landy.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From cuppajoe2go@21:1/5 to Norbert K on Tue Jul 27 14:25:01 2021
    On Tuesday, July 27, 2021 at 5:30:13 AM UTC-7, Norbert K wrote:
    Eugene Landy is the quack therapist who had Brian Wilson under his control for several years. Why do I liken him to Yoko? He appeared in Wilson's life at a time when Wilson was too fried on LSD to perceive that he was being preyed upon. Landy exerted
    near-total control over Wilson, subjecting him to 24-hour "therapy." He convinced Wilson that he (Wilson) was helpless without this alleged therapy. He began to control Wilson's work, taking co-producer's credit for Wilson's first solo album. Landy tried