• the fraud that is Jeff Berlin?

From bdoneal59@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Thu Aug 3 18:32:44 2017
    We both studied with Charlie Benacos back in our Berklee days though at different times, and yes Jeff was known around town and amongst most players at Berklee as a bit out of control ego-wise. That said, having seen him play many many times around
    Boston, he was pretty amazing. I studied with Miroslav Vitous who's ego was every bit as big as Jeff's. If you can back it up then it's fine. From a musical standpoint no bass player was playing the stuff Jeff was. I agree he was a bit busy for my taste,
    but you don't hear Jaco playing the complex lines Jeff played. I saw Jaco live and he pretty much sucked the night I saw him and he wasn't much more than the king of penotonics played badly in a stoned stuper and overrated in my book. Jeff never gave a
    bad performance that I ever saw. He's definitely mellowed and I think he has a lot to say.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Beach Runner@21:1/5 to bdon...@gmail.com on Mon Aug 14 12:16:23 2017
    On Thursday, August 3, 2017 at 9:32:45 PM UTC-4, bdon...@gmail.com wrote:
    We both studied with Charlie Benacos back in our Berklee days though at different times, and yes Jeff was known around town and amongst most players at Berklee as a bit out of control ego-wise. That said, having seen him play many many times around
    Boston, he was pretty amazing. I studied with Miroslav Vitous who's ego was every bit as big as Jeff's. If you can back it up then it's fine. From a musical standpoint no bass player was playing the stuff Jeff was. I agree he was a bit busy for my taste,
    but you don't hear Jaco playing the complex lines Jeff played. I saw Jaco live and he pretty much sucked the night I saw him and he wasn't much more than the king of penotonics played badly in a stoned stuper and overrated in my book. Jeff never gave a