• Scale length?

From elitecustomguitars@gmail.com@21:1/5 to Kevin Hall on Fri Mar 11 08:55:13 2016
    Hi Kevin,

I am a luthier from California and just received an email from a potential client asking if I could build him something similar to that of the famous Bill Lewis electric. Unfortunately, I am at a dead end in finding info on the scale length (how I
    stumbled upon this), electronics capabilities ect. I have seen a photo where there are many wires connected to a strange looking potentiometer almost like it is a double dole double throw pot. If I could pick your brain it would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

-Brian
    elitecustomguitars.com
    elitecustomguitars@gmail.com

On Thursday, May 9, 2013 at 6:58:32 AM UTC-7, Kevin Hall wrote:
    "Tony Done" <tonydone@bigpond.com> wrote in message news:kmecbn$okv$1@speranza.aioe.org...
    I'm having a discussion in rmmgj aboout the effect of scale length on tone. Someone is suggesting that 24.75 gives a dark sound compared with a light sound from 25.5 - his words. What say?

Al, Kevin?
    --
    Tony Done

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=784456

http://www.flickr.com/photos/done_family/

My old friend the late Bill Lewis used to say that scale length is the first consideration when designing a new instrument for a specific client, but it's only one of many variables which will affect the overall performance.

Given otherwise identical instruments a longer scale will generally give greater projection and volume since it puts greater tension on the top.