• What is a "double-e"?

From stevesharnoff@gmail.com@21:1/5 to Sunnyfield on Sat Feb 20 19:14:02 2016
    On Friday, September 13, 2002 at 6:49:22 PM UTC-7, Sunnyfield wrote:
    For what it's worth... You are perfectly correct in stating that it would be called the "Double EE". There is also an "RR" line and that too is called the "double R".
    I have been travelling NYC Subways for over 50 years and have seen and heard it
    all (that is until next week when I'll see/hear something that will blow me away once again!
    I once wrote a humerous essay that spoke of a newtype ride that would be guaranteed to alarm you, shake you, blow cold/hot air on you, threaten you, etc., etc. and when the reader got to the end, only THEN did I mention that I was writing about a ride on the NYC Subway system.
    Dave

Just guessing, but a long time ago I worked for the Santa Fe Railroad, and they had a train called the "Extra East".. .I think it was trans-continental and ran once each day. Could that be it?

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From mehrten@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Mon Aug 14 00:40:20 2017
    I do think it's the "extra east" but that it wasn't a transcontinental train. I found the following in a 1914 B.&O. publication. There's a section acknowledging employees' (and sometimes ordinary citizens') worthy actions when they noticed things wrong
    with trains.
    "On October 17, C.W. Crounty, yard brakeman, observed defect in car in train of extra east No. 6008 at Piedmont as it was passing. He notified crew, who stopped train and had car repaired."
    Not that the song is talking about this exact incident, but similar events occurred frequently, and I'll bet you a dime to a doughnut that those "extra east" trains were called "double e's" all the time.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
  • From mehrten@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Mon Aug 14 01:10:08 2017