• Regarding Grandmaster Sin Kwang The' - Questions

From herbalgardnr@hotmail.com@21:1/5 to Hunter Kid on Wed Aug 9 16:41:28 2017
    On Monday, June 22, 1998 at 3:00:00 AM UTC-4, Hunter Kid wrote:
    I've been reading the thread in which some people are claiming that Grandmaster Sin The' is a fraud, and others are ardently defending
    him.

Now, to be honest with you, I wouldn't care about this one way or the
    other if I wasn't already into the Shaolin-Do system. I am currently
    a green belt, about to test to brown, and planning to sign up for
    another year of training. (I train in Atlanta, not under Sin The'
    himself, but under Sifu Michael Reid, who in turn trains under Master
    Gary Grooms. I assume those names, if anyone is familiar with them,
    are reputable?) For the record, I have a first degree black belt in
    Choi Kwang Do (which I quit some time ago), and scattered training in
    Taiji Chuan (from the Shaolin-Do school), Hapkido, Ninjutsu, Kendo,
    Tai Kwon Do, etc.

Okay, now let me be clear about this - the system seems very good.
    And effective. The instructors at the two Atlanta schools (Marietta
    and Norcross) are both very skilled fighters and martial artists. But
    if the Grandmaster is a liar/fraud/disreputable fiend or whatever who everyone outside the Shaolin-Do system hates, that's definitely a
    problem.

So here's what I want to know:

1. Is Grandmaster Sin Kwang The' a fraud?
    2. If he is, in what way? Is he an unskilled martial artist, or does
    he merely exaggerate his abilities? If he isn't, is he one of the
    best?
    3. Is the Shaolin-Do system reputable? (It seems to be effective.)

What I do *not* want in response is rantings from James Hall or
    whatever his name is (the disgraced student of Sin The's) spewing vile slander about the Grandmaster. I would like some neutral opinions
    from people in or not in the Shaolin-Do system, as long as they are