• [POWDER] First Successful Run

From Link Tristen@21:1/5 to All on Fri Sep 2 00:34:47 2022
    I've been playing POWDER off and on for about 5 years now. I first learned about it in high school and loved in at first sight. I finally got my first successful game run today while playing a full H'RUTH build.

Starting off the game, I knew that a pure barbarian build was going to come with some major consequences. You know, like never casting spells ever. The first few floors were fairly easy, running around smashing things with a random mace I picked up in my
    studded leather armor. No shoes, no helmet, no shield.

After several floors, I found a nice +1 round shield and a feathered helmet. Put on some cursed riding boots which quickly got un-cursed (Thanks Klaskov), and a couple of random rings. Eventually learned endure hunger through a level up and made the
    hardest of decisions with my small barbarian brain.
    1. Kill and eat everything I see.
    2. Starve, but have Pax hate me less.
    Choosing eternal starvation, I began to fix my reputation with Pax (which was about -60 at the time) I can't cast healing spells to make Pax like me, so I just ran around murdering undead. A LOT of undead.

Got my inventory full of random junk and read a scroll of identify, learning just how much stupid cursed things I was holding onto. Then grabbed my rings and set them to swap between regeneration, cold resistance, and shock resistance. Polymorphed my
    books to get more physical skills and learned them, fully decking myself out with the greatest armor techniques mana potions can buy.

About floor 10, I found a nice artifact feathered helm of telepathy that made me also invisible. Klaskov had liked my random mace I started with, so it was a +5 by this point. Turns out it doesn't really matter what weapon you use if you just enhance it
    enough...