• Re: Facebook backgammon and manipulation of game

From Glenn Rhoads@21:1/5 to Michael Petch on Thu Nov 17 14:37:07 2022
    On Sunday, August 4, 2013 at 12:49:12 AM UTC, Michael Petch wrote:
    On 03/08/2013 4:39 PM, christophe...@gmail.com wrote:
    Anybody playing Backgammon Live or the new incarnation of Play65,PlayGem Social?
    Some of us find that the games must be being manipulated by the developers and or admins.It is pretty blatant stuff. Multiple doubles again and again,game after game. Anybody have any knowledge of this kind of manipulation? I'm not interested in
    opening a discussion of whether this exists or doesn't exist. I'm not going there again. I would like to hear from people who have played there or in other arenas or have worked in online gaming. Thanks in advance,chris

I am a developer of GNUBG ( www.gnubg.org ), and have written code for
    years that generate dice and randomized card deals. Is it possible for a developer to write bad routines to generate dice? Yes it is, however
    there are so many well known and well tested pseudo random generators
    that are indistinguishable from real randomness that you can't tell them apart.

On a pay site in theory developers could keep the fish playing by
    altering the dice to favour the weaker player just to keep them from
    leaving the site (and I believe that was suggested in many forums) yet
    there was never any concrete evidence of it (that I saw), but it could happen if the business has no scruples. Some businesses don't. So when
    it comes to real money play you take your chances.

You bring up a social game in the mix. Social sites have less incentive
    to have doubles. If a social site appears to have too many doubles in
    your opinion, it is probably more than likely that the rolls are good.
    In fact some sites actually realize that random dice don't make it a fun game, so they bias the generator against longer sequences or clusters of doubles.