In the last round of the World Championship of Xiangqi in Munich, Germany in 2015 I made a horrific blunder. In a winning position, I moved a rook off my back rank, allowing my opponent a simple back rank mate with his cannon.game against Judit Polgar. Garry Kasparov denied his hand had left the piece but a video made of the event showed that his hand had left the piece.
I realized I had made this mistake as soon as I made the move, but as my fingers had left the piece it was too late so instead I stared blankly at the board hoping that my opponent would not realize I had made a blunder.
Now, I wonder what would have happened had I instantly grabbed the piece back. There are firm rules against this in International Chess. I have not seen any rules about this in Chinese Chess. In a famous game, Garry Kasparov took a move back in a blitz
What would have been the ruling had this happened in Xiangqi?
|Location:||Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK|
|Nodes:||8 (1 / 7)|