• spurs w/ uneven branches, which way?

From Maria Brockbank@21:1/5 to Bill Kambic on Sun Mar 21 21:45:18 2021
    I am going to be showing the Prix St. George in 2 weeks and tried some rounded spurs since they are required and I have never used spurs before. Well my horse did not like it at all. We took several steps backwards. The next day I found some dummy
    spurs that are just a smooth metal spur with nothing on it. Hopefully they will work. Plan to try them tomorrow. Seems stupid that I am required to ride in them since my horse does not need them. Oh well. At least at the FEI level they allow you to
    ride in a snaffle as long as you are not showing internationally. Then you have to ride in a double. Crazy.
    On Monday, November 17, 2003 at 2:30:58 PM UTC-7, Bill Kambic wrote:
    "RPM1" wrote in message
    "Terry von Gease"
    Those silly knobby things are far more vicious than most any civilized rowels. Rowels roll over the surface. Knobby abominations push the meat
    in
    front of them like a bow wave leaving a wake of bruised and torn flesh beneath the surface of the skin.

Yes. Thank you.
    Indeed.
    Like with harsh bits, if you need spurs then you have no business
    using them and if you are good enough to use spurs then you
    shouldn't need them.
    I will disagree in part, here.
    A horse that is over-bitted (either by the sheer size of the rig OR by the inablity of the rider to use the rig correctly) is going to suffer negative side effects that can be very difficult to correct later on.
    And, just so it's said here first, the very large mouthpiece bits (generally seen as "mild" are anything but in a small mouthed horse).
    A properly used spur, on the other hand, is ane excellent aid for achieving precision. It is the difference between pointing with a an arrow or a tree limb.
    The spur can also have a positive function in increasing the authority of