• Free wood best method to build a boat?

From Darnell B@21:1/5 to All on Sun Jan 10 06:20:09 2016
    Ok so I'm purchasing a portable saw mill and the island where I live I
    have an unlimited supply of mature southern pine,red/white oak, cherry,
    sweet gum and maybe some cypress.

I want to build a 19-23' pilot house boat.

Most plans online I've looked at call for a lot of CNC marine plywood.
    I'm trying to leverage the free stuff i have vs a bunch of stuff i have
    to buy.
    I've been looking at cold molding, clinker, carvel, stick and glue, etc.

I'm a novice to learning curve is a factor and I'm not appose to mixing
    in fiberglass or metal if it can simplify and speed things up without
    adding to much to cost.

--
    Darnell B

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Mark Reuten@21:1/5 to All on Sun Jan 10 17:14:23 2016
    The first thing that I would suggest is to look at designs that call for solid timber as opposed to plywood construction. In my experience, traditional construction can be just as approachable as modern construction i.e: plywood/epoxy. Designs by Harry
    Bryan are well worth considering and he is very approachable should you need some guidance. Secondly, once you have chosen a design, I would build a small tender using the same construction technique. This will give you some valuable experience and see
    you through to a finished product in a reasonable time. Depending on the design and details, a 19-23' decked over boat can easily suck up six months to a year of full time labour so I would be a little cautious before diving in to the larger project.
    While the standing trees might be free to you, the effort of getting them down, moved, milled, dried and dressed will require a goodly amount of effort. Lastly, if you are very new to boatbuilding, I highly recomend you try your hand at some lofting and