• Detailed deraileur question

From Kenneth Litwak@21:1/5 to All on Sun Jan 9 15:54:37 2022
    I have taken my wheel of my Trek Madone to replace tubes countless times. I have not had trouble with the derailleur going back to its normal p[position and working. Not this time. I am attempting to mount it on the skewer of an indoor trainer. I don't
    know what happed but it is sticking out sideways, not vertical. A;also, there seems to be some sort of "hook" hanging down. I've never seen that before, but it surely belongs around or through something. I believe it is an Ultegra d. I have never had
    this issue before and I have no idea what to do. I haven't found a Youtube video on the details of a derailleur. I'm not mechanically-inclined. I was a computer programmer for many years and my knowledge of the details of a derailleur is small. Any
    suggestions? I can't lug he very heavy trainer and the bike to a shop to get help. I'd have to take the bike off the trainer before going back home. I don't know what to do. Thanks.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Frank Krygowski@21:1/5 to Kenneth Litwak on Mon Jan 10 11:16:38 2022
    XPost: rec.bicycles.tech

On 1/9/2022 6:54 PM, Kenneth Litwak wrote:
    I have taken my wheel of my Trek Madone to replace tubes countless times. I have not had trouble with the derailleur going back to its normal p[position and working. Not this time. I am attempting to mount it on the skewer of an indoor trainer. I don'
    t know what happed but it is sticking out sideways, not vertical. A;also, there seems to be some sort of "hook" hanging down. I've never seen that before, but it surely belongs around or through something. I believe it is an Ultegra d. I have never had