• Re: Too Little Too Late

From jp@21:1/5 to Giaco on Thu May 18 18:44:02 2023
    On Thursday, May 18, 2023 at 6:21:22 PM UTC-7, Giaco wrote:
    I had an occurrence this afternoon with a student that thankfully did not damage the glider, buy has left me as the instructor with a quite sore lower back and new discovery of a sneaky way a student can kill me. As this is far from the first dumb
    mistake I've made as a glider pilot, I figured it might be worth sharing with the community to see who else has experienced it, or perhaps help someone avoid the same circumstance.

Here's the background, using the FAA's PAVE model...

Pilot (Student) - 40ish year old pre-solo student, has been working on powered as well as gliders, as a fun activity to do with his teenage son. Was close to soloing in the fall, and has taken 8 rides this year to hopefully solo soon. Is well educated
    and understands most flight safety concepts, but generally needs to be shown how they apply to truly "get" them. Some work/family stress, as he has a high-tempo job that requires difficult scheduling, and had family events to get to at the end of the
    flying day.

Pilot (Instructor-Me) - 35 year old instructor, focused heavily on primary instruction for the last 15 years (flying gliders for 20). Has roughly 1000 hours (all in gliders), 90% of which in 2-33's and L-23s, with ~100 hours of PIK-20 and HP-14 time.
    Minimal work/family stress, as i'm in between military assignments, and had the afternoon dedicated to helping get this student to solo.

Aircraft - The club's venerable SGS-233. Both instructor and Student have spent significant time in this glider, in these conditions, at this airport. The Glider has no maintenance issues has no issues using either the surface or adjacent grass for
    landings.