• Real journalism

From Tony@21:1/5 to All on Fri Feb 24 19:10:31 2023
    XPost: nz.politics

http://karldufresne.blogspot.com/2023/02/why-journalists-credibility-is-declining.html
    Another superb bit of journalism from one of the country's most competent and respected practitioners of the art.

I particularly liked this comment.
    'The other thing I noticed was that Maureen quite clearly said that she believed that the climate was changing but was not clear on whether the cause was man. Most of the News Hub bulletin left that bit out and indicated that she was in fact a climate change denier. That is typical of the non-factual spin that we see more often from journo's.
    In the bulletin James Shaw refused to provide access to any documentation that would have been a response to Maureen's concern.
    The article should have been (in mirth) "{Climate Minister refused to show any proof of man-made Climate Change"'

And this comment
    "I am a farmer in HB. I was lucky this time to escape serious damage, but we got hammered by a big storm (localised to the coast) in 2011 that dropped 750mm and caused huge damage. Before that the 1988 Cyclone Bola was devastating. I don't remember the 1974 flood, but it was bad. And before my time the 1959 flood caused slips we can still see today. Then there was the big storm in the mid 1940's, the 1938 flood, etc etc. You could almost think that these events are not 'unprecedented', '1 in 250 years', or 'never occurred before' events after all.