• Re: Debian ISO Testing

From Andrew M.A. Cater@21:1/5 to Martin McCarthy on Fri Jul 28 00:00:02 2023
    On Thu, Jul 27, 2023 at 04:52:29PM +0100, Martin McCarthy wrote:
    Dear Debian team,

I'm very pleased to be involved in the Debian project. Thank you for having me. Let me introduce myself. I'm Martin, I am a developer based in
    Manchester in the UK and I've recently decided to dive head first into the wonderful world of FOSS. I have been in the Microsoft ecosystem for the best part of two decades and only ever dabbled in Linux and Debian a little bit during that time. I recently took part in the Debian 12.1 ISO release event and I had fun, learned a lot of things and met some interesting people (including the former DPL Sledge). I had some suggestions based on my experience that I would like to share with you.

2) Recognition of testers. Although the small group over on #debian-cd on OFTC were thankful for everyone's contributions including my own, it would
    be really great for new testers like myself to have some kind of formal project recognition. It may seem like a small thing but it makes a huge difference to me personally. There are several ways of recognising the testers...some easy some not so easy. Firstly, when publishing the release notes, naming the testers (by their chosen names) that helped test the
    images before publication would be a nice way to recognise us. Also, as cheesy as this may seem or sound, awarding a certificate to recognise that that person has participated in the Debian release testing process. Doesn't have to be printed of course, it could be designed in Gimp or whathaveyou. I have mocked a design which you can view here - > https://justpaste.it/de4hd (NB: this is a heads up. This link is SFW...if you happen to be in the
    office right now).

If it helps, you're now a Debian contributor by virtue of having edited the wiki and done some testing.