• Restoring RS/6000, need expertise!

From Kevin Bowling@21:1/5 to WBSTClarke on Thu Mar 10 07:11:05 2016
    On 03/ 9/16 06:31 PM, WBSTClarke wrote:
    On Monday, 28 July 2014 20:20:02 UTC+1, Douglas Dunn wrote:
    I have two RS/6000 machines that I got from my university, when they were being thrown out. They are a 390 and 39H. I'm not very experienced with AIX, although I know a fair amount about OS/2 and eCS.

So, since they came out of a storage closet, all passwords, IP addresses, and state of the drives/AIX install is all unknown. There is no HMC, nor a dumb terminal present. I do have an older laptop with a serial port, a M/M db25 gender adapter, one
    of those "db25 to db9" adapters, and various null modem adapters. Currently both systems boot as far as IPL code 261, "No display adapter detected". I have several MCA cards: Serial DB-9, with 2 ports, token ring + RJ-45, and a pair of ESCON cards and a
    cable. Unfortunately, no MCA video card. Also I have the physical keys for both systems, and a SCSI internal CD-drive (apple branded) and a generic internal SCSI tape drive.

I have a few questions from anybody who has experience with the ins and outs of these machines. My goal is to get both systems fully running and configured with the hardware I listed, and to use the old laptop as a terminal.

1) How can I bypass the "no display" error, allowing the machine to keep booting?
    2) What combination of RS-232 adapters is known to work?
    3) What software is needed on the laptop side? Just "cat /dev/ttyS0", or what?
    4) Will the machines still come up to some kind of prompt on the terminal, even if the drives are dead/blank?
    5) I'd want to install a new copy of AIX (for experience and practice!), what version is recommended - does IBM offer free version of legacy releases?
    6) Will I be able to use the ESCON cards to link the systems?
    7) Any other advice on my setup?

Thanks in advance!