• Trying to connect Apple II+ with Hyperterminal

From gatewaycityca@yahoo.com@21:1/5 to All on Tue Oct 19 14:54:52 2021
    Hi all,
    I've been wanting a way of transferring BASIC programs from my Apple II+ to a modern computer for a while now. I just wanted a way to backup my programs onto text files. I finally got a serial to USB cable and downloaded the trial version of
    HyperTerminal. (I wanted to be sure I could get it to work before I paid for the full version). It's KIND of working, but I'm having some problems and I was hoping someone could help. I've never done this before and had to look it up. I'm connecting
    the Apple II to a modern laptop running Windows 10.

Going by what I read, in HyperTerminal I set the bitrate to 300 baud, 8 data bits, no parity, 1 stop bits, and no flow control. I set the emulation to "TTY."

If I put the Super Serial Card in the Apple II+ into terminal mode, I can send stuff TO the Apple II (by typing in HyperTerminal or transferring text files). But I can't receive anything FROM it. If I try to type on the Apple II keyboard, nothing shows
    up in HyperTerminal. If type in the command "PR#1" on the Apple, I do get something in HyperTerminal, but it's just weird characters.

I should also explain how I have the cables set up. I have a modem cable connected to the Super Serial Card. I had to do that because I found an ImageWriter printer and wanted to connect it to the Apple, but the only cable I was able to find online uses
    modem wiring. So I had to set the jumper block on the serial card to "modem" to get it to work. I then have the cable connected to a data switch, with another cable connected with a null-modem adapter. That way, I can easily switch between the printer