• Complete Noob here, but have SPSS questions...

From ryeomans50@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Thu Jan 9 11:41:45 2020
    My apologies if this is not the correct forum for questions, like this. If so, please point me in the right direction as to where to ask?

I have never used SPSS.

I am a programmer by trade. I have been tasked with creating an application that will have a SQL Server data store. Someone at that client wants to use SPSS for reporting on that data store.

Simple enough so far.

Can SPSS handle foreign keys in tables? That is, if I have a Parent table, and a Children table with multiple Children records pointing back to a single Parent record, how does SPSS handle that? Will SPSS see that connection in the database schema, or
    does the user have to do that manually?

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Bruce Weaver@21:1/5 to ryeom...@gmail.com on Thu Jan 9 13:43:01 2020
    On Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 2:41:47 PM UTC-5, ryeom...@gmail.com wrote:
    My apologies if this is not the correct forum for questions, like this. If so, please point me in the right direction as to where to ask?

I have never used SPSS.

I am a programmer by trade. I have been tasked with creating an application that will have a SQL Server data store. Someone at that client wants to use SPSS for reporting on that data store.

Simple enough so far.

Can SPSS handle foreign keys in tables? That is, if I have a Parent table, and a Children table with multiple Children records pointing back to a single Parent record, how does SPSS handle that? Will SPSS see that connection in the database schema, or

If I follow you, the SPSS user will have two datasets open, Parent & Children. For any analysis involving variables from both datasets, one would have to merge the two files. The most common way to do that is via the MATCH FILES command. Here is the
    Command Syntax Reference manual info for MATCH FILES: