• Diagnosis/conclusion of Skybuck's UBEE cable modem from 2009 (tutor

From skybuck2000@hotmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Sun Oct 14 16:27:28 2018
    Little typo corrected, I think I ment to write the last line as follows:

"...probably because of more advanced protocol from their side which may now be incompatible with this older modem."

Bye,
    Skybuck.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From skybuck2000@hotmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Sun Oct 14 16:28:52 2018
    (Modem works fine for internetting, just can't get into the menu, resets connections when attempting too, may be a weird DHCP misconfiguration ?!?)

Bye,
    Skybuck.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
  • From skybuck2000@hotmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Mon Oct 15 05:09:09 2018
    I forgot to mention the method of debugging this modem and producing the log:

Being a programmer myself I used the logging functionality of the cable modem as a "debugger" by using the refresh F5 functionality of the webbrowser to get a constant update of the log, and using the back button of the browser as a breakpoint. The
    webbrowser apperently remembers the last successfull transmission of the cable modem/websites/webservers. Firefox was used for this.

Exact method is as follows:

1. Connect modem as usual.

2. Power on modem.

3. Reset modem

4. Surf to http://192.168.1.1/AdvEventLog.asp

5. Keep pressing F5 until the log disappears/connection reset message.

6. Press back button of browser and examine last good log.

Bye,
    Skybuck.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
  • From skybuck2000@hotmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Mon Oct 15 13:32:57 2018
    Ok I called ziggo a couple of times to try and get to the bottom of this.

At least the television section of ziggo was usefull, they will send a network engineer to try and diagnose the problem when it comes to noisy signal.

The internet section/service/support of ziggo was a bit less helpfull, but they try.

Questions asked by me: