• creating a serial loopback under VxWorks

From Ajju@21:1/5 to All on Tue Jul 3 05:57:07 2018
    I'm fairly new to VxWorks OS and hence wouldn't mind explanations in case I differ in my understanding of things under the hood when they differ from more _traditional_ OSes like Linux and the likes. With that out of the way, let me begin my actual
    question.

I am trying to create a loop-back test for testing changes I made to the serial UART driver on the board. Since I do not want to use a cross cable to actually short two UART ports externally, I've connected both of those ports to my dev machine. One
    configured as an output port from the dev machine's perspective (and consequently as an Input port on the board) and the other an input port (an output port on the board). I am actually doing the loopback using a shared memory buffer which I am
    protecting using a mutex. So there are two threads on the board, one of which reads from the input port, copies data to the shared memory and the other reads from the memory and sends it over the output port.

And I am using _regular_ open, read and write calls in my VxWorks application (by the way I _think_ it is part of the application code as I call the functions from `usrAppInit.c` not withstanding the fact that I can even call driver routines from here! (
    Is it because of a _flat_ memory model vis-a-vis Linux?? Anyhow).

Now I these ports on VxWorks have been opened in a non blocking mode and here's the code snippet which configures one of the ports:

if( (fdIn = open(portstrIn, O_RDONLY | O_NOCTTY, 0) ) == ERROR) {
    return 1;
    }

if(((status = ioctl(fdIn, FIOSETOPTIONS, OPT_RAW))) == ERROR)
    {
    return 1;
    }

/* set the baud rate to 115200
    */

if((status = ioctl(fdIn, FIOBAUDRATE, 115200)) == ERROR)
    {
    return 1;
    }

/* set the HW options
    */

if((status = ioctl(fdIn, SIO_HW_OPTS_SET, (CS8 | 0 | 0))) == ERROR)
    {
    return 1;
    }