• Suggestion about Linux/Ubuntu Distro for my hardware (Ryzen)

From MaxTheFast@21:1/5 to All on Sun Feb 10 10:55:45 2019
    I've just built a PC with this following cgf:
    - amd ryzen 3 2200g 3.5Ghz with vega8 integrated graphics;
    - MB msi b450-a pro with latest bios V10.4 dec.2018;
    - ram 2x4gb kingston hiperx predator 3200mhz cl16

I'm a linux very newbie because I had used only lubuntu 12.04 many years ago for a while so I can say now I'm going to start from zero.
    Afaik there've always been some problems related to graphics in linux environments so I wonder if I'll get any with the vega graphics; I won't get a dedicated graph card. I'll use win10 for most of my SW but I'd like to use VLC and play streaming web
    videos in linux with no graphic troubles, if it's possible.
    Unluckly my ram works @2400mhz 17-17-17-39 1.368V by default on that cfg but I can switch on a-xmp profile2 @2933 15-17-17-36 1.368V and it works good the same and I guess it's safe for my system's "health" on the long period, isn't it?

That said I ask: should I avoid some linux distros for graphic troubles related to ryzen? will I get troubles due to OCed ram in linux? what linux distros can you suggest for my system stability, my graphics and friendlyness? I'd prefer an ubuntu DE due
    to its community support but I'll consider everything anyway (eg. Mint).

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Henrik Carlqvist@21:1/5 to MaxTheFast on Sun Feb 10 19:54:16 2019
    On Sun, 10 Feb 2019 10:55:45 -0800, MaxTheFast wrote:
    should I avoid some linux distros for graphic troubles
    related to ryzen?

I have no experience from ryzen but in short when it comes to hardware
    support there is no big difference between different distros. Any
    differences are more related to different versions. Mostly you will need
    a more recent version of your prefered distro than your hardware.