• EUDORA IN BOX DOES NOT GET UPDATED WITH NEW EMAILS

From MJ FEIN@21:1/5 to All on Tue Jul 13 21:19:18 2021
    I HAVE BEEN USING EUDORA FOR ABOUT 20 YEARS WITH MUCH SUCCESS.

WITHIN LAST WEEK I CONTINUE TO RECEIVE THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE WHENEVER EUDORA OPENS...

could not read from file. c:\eudora\data\in.mbx cause: file already exists (17)

THE RESULT IS THAT WHEN EUDORA GOES OUT TO THE SERVER TO RETRIVE MAIL THE MAIL IT RETRIEVES IS NOT PLACED IN THE IN BOX. SO I DO NOT GET TO SEE ANY NEW EMAIL MESSAGES.

CAN ANYONE HELP ? THANK YOU IN ADVANCE.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From DaveH2@21:1/5 to MJ FEIN on Wed Jul 14 04:17:52 2021
    On Wednesday, 14 July 2021 at 05:19:19 UTC+1, MJ FEIN wrote:

WITHIN LAST WEEK I CONTINUE TO RECEIVE THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE WHENEVER EUDORA OPENS...

THE RESULT IS THAT WHEN EUDORA GOES OUT TO THE SERVER TO RETRIVE MAIL THE MAIL IT RETRIEVES IS NOT PLACED IN THE IN BOX. SO I DO NOT GET TO SEE ANY NEW EMAIL MESSAGES.

Presumably all your other mailboxes are OK and you can see and read the messages in them?
    If you can see the inbox and read any messages already in it, I would try moving them all temporarily to another mailbox.
    Then (with Eudora closed of course) go to the c:\eudora\data folder using Windows Explorer, and delete the two files called in.mbx and in.toc and when you've done that run Eudora again. The files should be recreated, and hopefully will then be OK.
    You can then move the messages you temporarily moved out of the inbox back into it if you want.
    HTH. Cheers, Dave.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
  • From MJ FEIN@21:1/5 to dav...@sky.com on Wed Jul 14 22:25:36 2021
    On Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 7:17:53 AM UTC-4, dav...@sky.com wrote:

Presumably all your other mailboxes are OK and you can see and read the messages in them?
    If you can see the inbox and read any messages already in it, I would try moving them all temporarily to another mailbox.