• Python scripts in .exe form

From Mona Lee@21:1/5 to All on Fri Aug 19 14:07:03 2022
    I'm pretty new to Python, and I had to do some tinkering because I was running into issues with trying to download a package from PIP and must've caused some issues in my program that I don't know how to fix

1. It started when I was unable to update PIP to the newest version because of some "Unknown error" (VS Code error - unable to read file - (Unknown(FileSystemError) where I believe some file was not saved in the right location?

2. In my command line on VS code there used to be the prefix that looked something like "PS C:\Users\[name]>" but now it is "PS C:\Users\[name]\AppData\Local\Packages\PythonSoftwareFoundation.Python.3.10_qbz5n2kfra8p0\LocalCache\local-packages\Python310\
    Scripts>

From there I redownloaded my VS code but still have the 2) issue.

also, my scripts are now in the .exe form that I cannot access because "it is either binary or in a unsupported text encoding" I've tried to extract it back into the .py form using pyinstxtractor and decompile-python3 but I can't successfully work these.

3. also wanted to mention that some of my old Python programs are missing.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Jim Schwartz@21:1/5 to All on Sat Aug 20 08:25:01 2022
    What method did you use to create the exe file from your python scripts? If it was pyinstaller, then it puts the compiled versions of these python scripts in a windows temp folder when you run them. You’ll be able to get the scripts from there.

Sent from my iPhone

On Aug 19, 2022, at 9:51 PM, Mona Lee <monamlee00@gmail.com> wrote:

I'm pretty new to Python, and I had to do some tinkering because I was running into issues with trying to download a package from PIP and must've caused some issues in my program that I don't know how to fix