• Silly question on tethered Forth

From Jose Morales@21:1/5 to All on Wed Sep 7 07:32:13 2022
    Hi all, I’m new to Forth after rediscovering it on embedded systems.

I have a quick idea vision I was wondering if any of the Forth builders are considering.

Let me start with the vision, I found that one of the biggest value for Forth as part if interactivity with the the little systems was the fact that one can basically do this magic (I say that with my C hat on) where you can actively stop a loop,
    reprogram a “function” and restart your loop. Which is why most MCU’s get a FW upgrade, they are basically refactoring or adding functions to a loop of tasks or functions…

OK, so here is the idea, how can one automate this in a way there you add a upgrade task to your loop to enable OTA upgrades… here I’m really considering, can a PRECOMPILED upgrade of those functions *or words* be sent to a FORTH system without
    interacting with the forth console?

Like I said, I’m still learning Forth, but it would certainly just trigger an update to the dictionary, same as the ; does…

Here os a problem (no not one I’m working on or considering but a really problem non the less) your electric meter, that is one of the most common IOT device out there, seen that those range in the billions, upgrading those with even large pipes must
    be a PITA. This type of system could benefit massively with these “simple” updates at scale. Even at say, 4MB Full RTOS + App, is a very large waste of bandwidth… vs say tens of kilobytes with that I’m envisioning.

The other problem to that coin is, there are probably many targets types or versions of the MCU’s, so as a reference, consider you are developing in a tethered Forth environment where you are actively testing gains all your target types on a single
    code base. You can keep all your *includes* for each target separate, they are just the HAL, but your app is a single source.