• Announcing Oberon Commander and Connections

From johnmdrake@gmail.com@21:1/5 to All on Wed Mar 18 09:51:24 2020
    Hello. This is probably the first real Oberon program I've written in years and the first I've publicly released in a couple of decades. (I had contributed a System 3 Pacman clone years ago...but sadly the Oberon S3 software repository is defunct. I'
    ve learned my lesson and I'm putting this on GitHub.)

Anyway, as an IT contractor I ran into the problem of needing to see which user computers were online so that they could be backed up. We had several lists of machines and everyone was either just typing the address into the command Windows Explorer
    address bar and seeing what comes up with a DOS prompt or typing "PING HOST" at the command prompt. I did write a Power Shell script to handle this using the Test-Connection command. Power Shell is an awesome tool! I watched some Microsoft
    instructional videos and noticed how the "Noun-Verb" nature of Power Shell is analogous to the "Module.Procedure" nature of Oberon commands. I figured "It should be easy to write an Oberon command to do the same thing." Well...easy is relative. What I'
    ve run into over the years, dropping in and out of Oberon, is that some things aren't as easy as the could be and processing command arguments is one of them. There are three different ways commands work.

Module.Procedure arg1 arg2...argn ~
    Module.Procedure ^
    Module.Procedure *

You have to first scan the parameters to see if you're getting the argument list following the command, from a selection or from a marked viewer. Then you have to attach a scanner using the appropriate convention (different for each possibility), and
    THEN you scan your arguments.

So...I wrote Commander.Mod. It handles all of this so all you have to do is init a scanner and start scanning.