• vhdl help project

From Babyla@21:1/5 to All on Fri Sep 25 07:56:54 2020
    I'm a beginner in vhdl and I'm developing a parking management system.
    At the moment I have made a "basic" version that seems to work properly. This includes a counter to manage the entry and exit of cars and provided the number of available parking spaces.
    Now I would like to take another step forward! I would like to implement a control unit to manage the parking payment, but maybe it is too complicated for a beginner, what do you think?
    I would like that when a car enters, the time is memorized and when it leaves, the user must enter the parking number and the difference in time and cost will be calculated. Being at first experiences I have difficulty in modeling this.

--- SoupGate-Win32 v1.05
    * Origin: fsxNet Usenet Gateway (21:1/5)
  • From Michael Kellett@21:1/5 to Babyla on Sat Sep 26 07:15:29 2020
    On 25/09/2020 15:56, Babyla wrote:
    At the moment I have made a "basic" version that seems to work properly. This includes a counter to manage the entry and exit of cars and provided the number of available parking spaces.
    Now I would like to take another step forward! I would like to implement a control unit to manage the parking payment, but maybe it is too complicated for a beginner, what do you think?
    I would like that when a car enters, the time is memorized and when it leaves, the user must enter the parking number and the difference in time and cost will be calculated. Being at first experiences I have difficulty in modeling this.

This seems to be a very strange project for VHDL (and I assume an FPGA).
    You will need a clock and to have the ability to store times and
    manipulate them and then use time differences to access a look up table
    of charges. None of this is very difficult in VHDL or on FPGA but it is
    much, much cheaper and easier to develop on a micro controller in C or C++.
    If it's just for learning then fair enough.