• Zmodem over ssh

From XanRevent@21:1/101 to All on Sun Mar 3 10:15:14 2019
    Hey all,

So, a lot of learning and a lot of research later, I finally have my Mystic server running on Ubuntu. There's a few things that have hiccups here and
    there (like cryptlib will not pass libtest due to missing cryptographic methods?) My server is set to only accept ssh traffic and the users I've got incoming will be using either a linux terminal or PuTTY.

I'm trying to figure out how to allow my users upload files. As a warning, I have exactly 0 experience with any of the x/y/zmodem protocols. What I think I've determined is that my users will have to rely on zssh? I could be totally off base. I've tried opening another terminal window from ubuntu desktop and running " sz filename " while the server was awaiting a file.

Can anybody help a total and complete newbie navigate uploads via ssh to mystic?

-Alexander

--- Mystic BBS v1.12 A43 2019/02/28 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Agency BBS | Dunedin, New Zealand | agency.bbs.nz (21:1/101)
  • From XanRevent@21:1/101 to XanRevent on Sun Mar 3 10:56:04 2019
    So, I found a solution by reading further into the documentation of zssh.

In case any other newbies struggle with this for a few hours, zmodem ssh can
    be done by installing zssh through apt and then logging in to the target bbs.

Following that, when you get to the desired filebase and tell it to upload through zmodem (where it will await the file), press ctrl+space. It will open
    a separate tty session through the same connection and allow you to navigate
    to and specify the file to send (the basic command for one file is sz filename.* ). It will upload. Once it seems complete, hit enter twice and it will exit out of the session and return you to the bbs.

--- Mystic BBS v1.12 A43 2019/02/28 (Windows/32)
  • From g00r00@21:1/108 to XanRevent on Sat Mar 2 19:58:10 2019