• Secure Comms

From Avon@21:1/101 to All on Wed Dec 19 16:22:02 2018
    With the work being done by BBS authors to offer a more secure BBS experience to users (SSH, encrypted passwords etc.) and secure traffic sent/recieved between systems (encrypted Binkp etc.) it seems now more than ever folks are mindful of developing software with security of communications in mind.

I wonder if BBS developers that are active here would be open to exploring new protocols (or re-tasking contemporary ones) so that new agreed standards to further develop software for secure, robust interconnected BBS can be agreed upon and implemented between contemporary systems?

I am not a security expert and don't profess to know a alot about this
    stuff... but I like the idea of

- communications being read/sent on contemporary BBS and between BBS in a timely, reliable and secure (ie. free from external snooping) manner

- contemporary mesh networking technologies being used to ensure network robustness between nodes and the free flow of communications unimpeded by the failure of a centralised hub > node distributed flow of data,

I'm just posting this to start a conversation and gauge interest, support and ideas in this subject :)

I guess in this increasingly 'digital footprint' aware world. I think it's an opportune time to leverage the simple communications interface that messaging on a BBS affords a user/sysop and apply 2018 know-how and security best practice and rigor to how those communications can be made secure.

Best, Paul

--- Mystic BBS v1.12 A40 2018/12/16 (Windows/32)
    * Origin: Agency BBS | Dunedin, New Zealand | agency.bbs.nz (21:1/101)
  • From deon@21:2/116.1 to Avon on Wed Dec 19 03:36:06 2018
    On 12/19/18, Avon said the following...
    I'm just posting this to start a conversation and gauge interest,
    support and ideas in this subject :)

My last post will show that I'm thinking of this topic.

One thing I'm struggling through is: