• Custom Install

From Rick Smith@1:340/202.1 to All on Thu May 28 16:39:32 2020
    Greetings All!

So I have been having trouble getting debian to install to a new intel nuc. It appears to be a problem with nic driver but also has some problem with the onboard intel GPU. My question is ( not a complete noob, but noobish) can I create a custom debian install iso with the drivers my system requires baked in? Its the only way around this I see.. Just as a note unbuntu installs without incident.

----
    Rick Smith (Nitro)

... TAGLINE A bad day BBSing is better than a good day at school!
    --- GoldED+/LNX 1.1.5--b20170303
    * Origin: ----> Abacus Sysop Point --->>>>bbs.abon.us:2323 (1:340/202.1)
  • From Alan Ianson@1:153/757 to Rick Smith on Thu May 28 18:20:54 2020
    Hello Rick,

So I have been having trouble getting debian to install to a new intel nuc. It appears to be a problem with nic driver but also has some
    problem with the onboard intel GPU. My question is ( not a complete
    noob, but noobish) can I create a custom debian install iso with the drivers my system requires baked in? Its the only way around this I
    see.. Just as a note unbuntu installs without incident.

I wonder why it works on ubuntu but not debian? A different kernel perhaps. I generally prefer debian over ubuntu but the stable branch of debian can be behind somewhat.. maybe debian testing or sid would work better for you. I haven't played much with debian recently but in the past I usually ran testing.

For a server setup I rather like ubuntu also, so if you find that works for what you are doing that might be the way to go.

Ttyl :-),
    Al

--- GoldED+/LNX
    * Origin: The Rusty MailBox - Penticton, BC Canada (1:153/757)
  • From mark lewis@1:3634/12 to Rick Smith on Fri May 29 09:03:05 2020
    Re: Custom Install
    By: Rick Smith to All on Thu May 28 2020 16:39:32

can I create a custom debian install iso with the drivers my system requires baked in?